Bruce Thomas

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by shrimpflea, Jan 11, 2014.

1. shrimpflea

shrimpflea

2. Bipslapper

Bipslapper Well Ahoy, Paloi Supporting Member

One of the main reasons I started playing bass in 1985. Great tone, groove and it was great that Elvis kept the bass loud in the mix in every recording. He and Pete Thomas really jelled. I've seen Elvis many times, recently 2011 on the Cape but Bruce wasn't with him. It was Elvis, Pete, Steve Nieve on keys and the bass player was Davey Faragher, who is great in his own right. But there is only one Bruce Thomas.

Lipstick Vogue is a great bass song. Thanks for posting
  3. sparkyfender2

sparkyfender2

Always loved his tone and his lines.
  4. Pentatonic

Pentatonic Gold Supporting Member

Awesome bass player!
  5. randyripoff

randyripoff

I own a DVD that features a number of live performances by EC and the Attractions. They were one hell of a band, and Bruce was front and center.
  6. iamthebassman

iamthebassman

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Phantom Guitars, Eastwood Guitars
    Saw EC&TA in the 90s, Bruce played a Jerry Jones Longhorn.
  7. Joebone

Joebone Supporting Member

Killer bassist - built great parts, super pocket with the keys and drums, always helping to build the tune. Have to read his autobiography sometime - I understand it's a good read, but also contributed to the estrangement between "The Artist" and Mr. Thomas.
  8. One Drop

One Drop Supporting Member

Incredible bassist. He was a huge part of The Attractions' sound and he really added a lot to every song he recorded with EC. His tone just pops out live, too, without running over the mix.

He is so inventive and melodic and his sense if time is brilliant, does so much to move the songs forward or to create tension and release. His fills are just nuts and completely original.

Carragher's tone with The Imposters is just too fat and doesn't work with the old material, takes the edge off the songs IMO.