1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Build No.4 - AnD semi-baritone

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by reverendrally, Dec 10, 2012.

1. reverendrally

reverendrally

Well, my twin bro (husband of the flowerbass owner) and I are turning 40 come the end of feb, so being an awesome guitarist I thought he needed a 40 bday guitar. He has no idea what I'm doing, although I've felt him out re a baritone. He said, "they're not much use to me, but a guitar in D permanently would do the trick". So the whole guitar scale is 70mm longer than you're average strat. So he can tune it a whole step down and have regular string tension or throw on some heavier strings get down where the real action is! :bassist:

P.s. remember this is a surprise, so no telling... :bag:

Here are my templates glued down.
    [​IMG]

I've got the following wood already to be edged and laminated;
    Neck, f/board, top and back; Victorian ash
    Body centre section; Kauri pine
    Decorate veneer; figured blackbutt

I may add a pinstripe with some dyed poplar I bought, or not. The design is heavily chambered, although I may rethink that too as he tends to play a lot of heavy rock in front of 4x12s. All the parts came from an Ibanez LP copy that sustained a broken neck (and wasn't worth fixing). The guitar was free to me, so all I've bought so far was timber and a jack plate. Most the timber was left overs too.

Got to get this on track as it needs to be finished by Feb 24, 2013... the clock is ticking!

2. HogieWan

HogieWan

I am looking at building a semi-bari as well. I have been using a larger gauge to tune down to D, I need room when I capo up.