1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Build your own bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by D_Bag, Feb 8, 2013.

1. D_Bag

D_Bag

I have been playing the electric bass for about 15 years and I am looking into getting an upright. I found a DIY bass kit on ebay for a great price. You can check it out here. I was just wondering how difficult it is to setup an upright bass? I've always done my own setups and repairs on my own basses, but I imagine this is a completely different animal than the electric. What are your thoughts on this kit?
  2. KUNGfuSHERIFF

KUNGfuSHERIFF

Sir, you have no idea. Save your money.
  3. longfinger

longfinger

+1
  4. DJ Bebop

DJ Bebop

I might fool with it myself but, that is after I had almost tore up my old Kay thinking I could do the work myself 'cause I could set up my electric myself :eek:

:rollno: Don't do it unless you have years of upright experience under you belt and even then, that experience will tell you to don't do it unless you just want something you can use as a planter box when done :rollno:

:D
  5. Jeremy Darrow

Jeremy Darrow

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Genz-Benz Amplifiers
    What on earth is "white ebony"?
  6. Thumpie

Thumpie

Ehm, do you know how difficult this instrument is?

I think your time would be better spend on learning to *play*.

(You'll need a teacher.)
  7. Ryker_M

Ryker_M