Building a Post-Hardcore/Metalcore Rig

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by LLlife, Jan 10, 2013.

1. LLlife

LLlife

Hey all! I'm in the process of getting my rig all set up and I was just wondering what else I should add to it. I currently have an Ampeg 4x10, GK Backline 600, and a Fender Jazz with active pickups. I have all the basic components of the rig down, but I'm starting to look into rack cases and different effects that will improve my tone. I'm still a novice when it comes to building rigs and getting a good tone etc etc, so I was wondering if anyone could make an suggestions as to what effects would be useful and why? Thanks!

(Gideon, Fit For a King, From Atlantis, The Plot In You, just naming some bands similar to the genre I play just so you all have a reference point :))

2. thebass905

thebass905

My first immediate thought would be an overdrive or distortion pedal! Look into the cheap, aggressive ad widely available Boss ODB-3... Though many around here consider it to be noisy. The Darkglass Electronics B3K is another (significantly more expensive) option. It is often considered the "holy grail" of dark and aggressive pedals. But there are a billion options, so.do some research and figure out what works for you! Good luck on finding the sound in your head!

3. NoxNoctus

NoxNoctus The Crushinator Supporting Member

I'm in a post hardcore band, I've tried a few overdrives, settled on the B3K and a 6 band equalizer. You can punch through any mix. We've got 2 guitarists, 2 singers, synth and drums, I've got no problem being heard.

For extreme bite, I have an IE Oxide fuzz. Very nasty evil pair.

For some further texture, I've got a loop running the Behringer BSY600 on pulse wave, a Catalinbread Heliotrope clone, and a Boss DS-1. With the proper mix I get an extremely growly chainsaw buzz, think Nine Inch Nails' "We're in this together" sound.

A light Chorus can add some flavor too. It really depends what sound you're going for.

My board