1. Please note: We are performing several software upgrades tonight, Sept 29th. Please bear with us. You may notice some formatting issues and other bugs.

Burning fingers and bad habits

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by avattz, Nov 16, 2012.

1. avattz

avattz

Hi guys, newbie here. So I finally received my bass guitar a few days ago (pictures in my first thread), and I also received my USB interface for the bass guitar yesterday.

I started using the bass guitar last night for about 3 hours, and this morning, my fretting fingertips burn (like I held them to a candle for a few seconds) and really hurt just typing on the keyboard lol. Halfway through last night it was somewhat painful to the point that I started getting fretbuzz for not applying enough pressure to the strings. My question is how long does this usually take to "heal", I tried playing my bass guitar again this morning but the pain is unbearable. I'd like to start playing again but not sure how soon I can.

Also since I'm "self-teaching" I've read that if you don't know what your doing you can develop bad habits with how to hold your bass guitar, finger placement on the fretboard, or plucking (and other bad habits).

I usually hold my thumb on the ends of one of the pickups and pluck with my index and middle finger ("walking"). But I've also seen that you can rest your thumb on the "previous" string while plucking. I tend to pluck harder with the pickup, and softer resting on the string. I'm not sure how hard you're suppose to pluck, or which method is preferred. I tried the slapping and popping technique and I felt like the B string was going to rip the headstock off lol.

Thanks for your help!

2. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

I'd suggest the book Bass Guitar for Dummies. It will get into all the basic stuff. How to hold it, how to tune it, how to get sound - fingers, pick and or thumb, etc. Your public library will probably have a copy.