Buy new bow in Berlin

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by Javor Menta, Dec 17, 2013.

1. Javor Menta

Javor Menta

Hello folks, after reading many threads I need some advice.

Im from Argentina, and will be in Berlin next month. I need to buy a new bow since I still have the one from when I started playing double bass (chinese, most cheaper one... piece of crap I know).

Anyway, Im using it a lot lately (the bow) and want to return to studies. I play popular music mostly (jazz, folk, etc) and want to start studying some classical again.

My budget is 300 euros (around $400) max. I was told to look for carbon fiber bows, but really don't know anything about it.

And most important, any stores to visit in Berlin? or maybe online stores in Berlin that I should look into?

Many many thanks for your help!

Best regards,
    Javier.-
  2. E.J. T.N.T.

E.J. T.N.T.

Hey Javor,

check Justmusic in Moritzplatz. They are one of the biggest music stores in Europe. I am not sure if you will find what you want but it would be my best guess. Otherwise you can always order directly from Thomann.de
  3. PaulCannon

PaulCannon

For that budget, I'd look for a Brazillian-made bow at home in Argentina. There are many very nice bows being made today in Brazil that sell for a fraction of what they'd be worth if made in France or Germany.
  4. MikeCanada

MikeCanada

I agree with Paul on this one. I am not sure what the market is like locally, but I would think that your budget would have a whole lot more buying power in Argentina than Berlin. I absolutely do not mean that as a disrespect to Argentina, more that Germany is a very expensive country.