1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Buying before playing

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Widow1942, Jan 28, 2014.

1. Widow1942

Widow1942

As an acoustic guitarist, I would never, ever buy a guitar from an online retailer before playing it. Even if I knew I wanted a particular model, I wouldn't do it, I'd have to feel that particular instrument.

Is the same true for bass? I would have thought so, but two pals say that buying on line is common, easy, and almost risk-free. You find a bass with the specs you want, and you get what you expect. I'd much rather support a local and independently owned shop, but I'm still curious if they're right?

Thanks.
  2. kcole4001

kcole4001

Of my 6 basses, I've bought 3 without playing them first.
    No issues, but you have to know exactly what you're looking for first and be looking at a rather consistent brand.
  3. BulbousMoses

BulbousMoses

As long as the retailer had a generous return policy, I would (and have) bought without trying. I've also used that return policy a couple of times...
  4. VanillaThundah

VanillaThundah

It also helps a lot of you like to or are open to modding minor things on a bass for the sake of making it fit just right.