1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Buying my first amp

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by diogometalhead, Jan 27, 2014.

1. diogometalhead

diogometalhead

Hello! So I am going to buy a Esp Ltd F-104 in a couple of weeks and I also need to get a amp but I have no idea what to buy so can someone help me get one? I am a beginner and going to play metal. The max I am willing to pay is $100 unless it is a bit more and worth it.

2. Roland GR 88

Roland GR 88 Gold Supporting Member

Peavey, Ampeg and Acoustic have models around $100.00 new. They are meant for practice mostly and won't sound too good cranked up. If you can stretch the budget to 150 you'll find older Ampegs, Peaveys and Fenders that will be good practice amps and keep up with a drummer or guitarist too. Peaveys should be at the top of the list as they aren't expensive new, last forever and there are lots out there. Good luck, welcome aboard and let us know how you do.

3. basscooker

basscooker

Disclosures:
    Owner, Chopshopamps.com
    Are you just learning to play? If so, just about anything that works and has a speaker will do. Maybe even just a headphone amp. With a budget like $100 you are going to be hard-pressed to find much that will do with other musicians involved. Shopping used from Craigslist or the local rag may turn up an old Peavey or GK combo with enough power to sneak by. It seems like the logical choice to get something so you're ready to go when the time comes to get into a group, but IMO you'd be better served to just stick it out with the very bare minimum (and work on the playing first) and save up until it's time. I'd bet you can find something very close to you for $20 that will work just fine until then.

4. diogometalhead

diogometalhead

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. BassmanPaul