1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Buying Strings: The Impossible Choice

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by cahir231, Dec 17, 2012.

1. cahir231

cahir231

Hello folks,
    It's not as bad as the title would make it seem, but it sounded more compelling/gripping to put it that way than "Buying Strings: I Am Clueless".

Beyond the basic tonal aspect implied, I don't really know what all these string terms mean (roundwound, flatwound, etc). I don't even know much about different brands of bass strings. However, here are some things I'm considering:

1) I have a 6-string.
    2) I would like a more mellow, less metallic C string (can get quite twangy).
    3) I'm going to be playing mostly rock, blues, and jazz on this bass...probably no slap (since I'm still learning). However, if there are strings I can get that are both great for fingerstyle and slap sound WITHOUT being too metallic on the C, please do recommend...but the good slap aspect isn't crucial.
    4) For the fingerstyle aspect, I really was considering strings that were conducive to making a more "soul/funk/R&B" tone...though I know you can just EQ most of that, I figured the strings would make a small difference.

Also, I need to have them on my bass and ready to go by the 29th, 12 days from now, so anything you can tell me asap would be awesome.

And please, if you have the time or know some links beyond Wikipedia, do tell me (or send me stuff that tells me) about bass strings and what's important/interesting/beneficial to know about them and current brands these days....PLEASE SHARE.

Thank you all for your help.

2. intheory

intheory

3. intheory

intheory