Buzz on MIM fender j when select single pickup

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by TinyE, Feb 18, 2013.

1. TinyE

TinyE

I tried search, and I'm sure this has been discussed, but couldn't find it.

I'm new to the fender j world. Brand new mim.

When I turn the vol down completely on one pickup on my bass, a buzz comes through the amp. Is this just Mexican electronics? Pup replacement? Pots?

Thx!

2. Seargant Waffle

Seargant Waffle

Single coil pickups hum when one is off, it's just a characteristic of the pickup type. They're wired so that with both pickups on full volume, the hum is eliminated.

3. tplyons

tplyons

Roll the volume on the other pickup on a bit... should make the hum subside a bit.

4. Acoop

Acoop

Try both pickups on full then back off the neck control just a bit and before you start to hear a buzz then try pucking the strings between the end of the neck and the neck pickup. .....

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Dubista

Dubista

No. This affects American, Japanese, Chinese, Australian, German and Israeli electronics, too.

7. FourBanger

FourBanger

For further information, it is called 60 cycle hum. A 'single coil' pickuo, guitar or bass, gets interference from the electricity running through most electronic wiring.

Humbucker pickups, split coils, and other designs can use an electronic trick to pickup the hum in two different directions, essentially, and they cancel each other out.

8. Loud Noises

Loud Noises