1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Cab Builder Question

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Ben Esparza, Jan 5, 2012.

1. Ben Esparza

Ben Esparza

I plan on building a cab using PL adhesive, screws, and brad nails. Would removing the screws after the PL sets be a wise decision or should I leave them in place? I'll be setting the wood joints into rabbets and dados which will give a little more adhesive surface area.

What do you guys think about removing the screws versus leaving them in place?

2. dave zilla

dave zilla

I'm a cabinet maker by trade but have never built a cab. I would say leave them and not bother pinning unless you are using them as a holder whilst screwing.

Basically you've put them in if you pull them out there will be a weak spot

3. gregoire1

gregoire1

I built a BFM Omni several years ago with PL glue. Once it dries, screws are no longer necessary. I removed the ones that would interfere with my rounded-off edges but left the rest. No problems yet.

4. billfitzmaurice

billfitzmaurice

Disclosures:
    Owner, Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design
    The screws are only there to hold the parts in place until the PL sets. I always pull them on the edge of the cab where they'd interfere with rounding the corners. With a well designed cab the rabbets and dados are also unnecessary.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Ben Esparza

Ben Esparza

All makes sense. I would be using plenty of Bondo to fill the holes left by the screw removal. The brads will be used just to keep things in place for the screws. I've built with pneumatic finish nails and they can sometimes that a different route than intended. 1" pneumatic brads are easier and safer. Thanks.

7. MontanaBassDude

MontanaBassDude

Hi, Ben - you can see photos of my recent fEARful cab build here: fEARful