1. Please note: We are performing several software upgrades tonight, Sept 29th. Please bear with us. You may notice some formatting issues and other bugs.

Calluses

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by BenBL, Jan 24, 2013.

1. BenBL

BenBL

I've been playing for close to three years now and i haven't really developed the types of calluses that my friends who play guitar have. I play my bass almost everyday yet only a few times have I really started to develop calluses on any of my fingers, such as when I've put on new strings or started to play on higher gauge strings, but they do not stay for longer than a few days. The fact that I have not developed them does not seem to hinder my playing at all, I'm just wondering if this is a problem with my technique or do I just have really tough skin?

Oh, and I'm using round wound strings, not flat wounds.

2. phii

phii

In my opinion, bassists don't develop serious calluses like guitarists do. There would be some calluses after a long playing process, but not as visible as guitarist's.

Bass strings are really thick, contrary to the thin and sharp guitar strings. Try bending the high E string on a guitar then you'll understand ;)

3. Sni77

Sni77

Same, my calluses aren't that pronounced and thick, but they are there. Play some banjo or mandolin, that should take care of it :cool:

4. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member

Then don't worry about it. :)

Your body only creates calluses when needed. :eek:

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Russell L

Russell L