1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Can a bad singer be a good bass player?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Champion, Jan 30, 2013.

1. Champion

Champion

For some reason, I just struggle to sing in tune. It actually get worse after I started playing the bass guitar for some reason (well it may not be related).

I have heard that bad singing is related to bad hearing. Is this true? Does it mean that I cannot be a good bass player?

:scowl:

2. MrLenny1

MrLenny1 Supporting Member

Yes. I know some really good guitar players who can't sing in key at all, go figure.
    Take some vocal lessons.
    A good teacher can turn you around in a few lessons.

3. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

People have ask me not to sing. But, they do ask me to play bass and rhythm guitar.

Two entirely different skills, and yes I'm sure lessons would help. It's a matter of priorities; the bands I'm in have plenty of vocalists - so I concentrate on what I do best - the other stuff.

No one says you have to sing.

4. okcrum

okcrum in your chest Supporting Member

Media:
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Dark Horse strings
    There are two different things going on. First, learning to sing in tune without playing. Second, gaining the coordinated independence (drummer term) to sing and play at the same time. It's not easy, but it's not impossibly hard, either. Just takes practice.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. gavinspoon

gavinspoon

How do you know you're a bad singer?

If you worked it out for yourself because you can hear that your singing is off pitch, then that won't stop you being a good bassist, or - with a bit of work - a good singer.