Can a bass amp be too loud?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by JoeBbass, Dec 26, 2013.

1. JoeBbass

JoeBbass

So here's the deal. I'm looking at an amp on ebay and the owns says the reason he's selling it is cos it's too loud for home use. I own an active bass, this amp has gain, master volume, an active input and is 150W. Because of this I think it wouldn't be too loud but then again I'm a relative newbie.

Would it be too loud with EVERYTHING turned way down?

I like to play at minimum volume for the comfort of myself and others.
  2. iiipopes

iiipopes Supporting Member

All gain and master volume knobs on all amplifiers have zeros as well as tens. You can turn down so soft even you can't hear it.

Here's the problem with bass: resonance. You might think it is really, really soft. But if it is just the right frequency or room geometry, it can resonate and be heard where you least expect it. The best thing to do is to "de-couple" the amplifier cabinet from the floor by casters, or setting it on a chair or amp stand, and angle it diagonally in the room to avoid resonances and standing waves as much as possible.
  3. FretNoMore

FretNoMore * Cooking with GAS * Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums:
    No, you can turn the volume down low.
  4. B-string

B-string Supporting Member

IF the seller likes distortion from overdriving the preamp then it could be "too loud" for their needs.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Jeff Scott

Jeff Scott Don't just TalkBass - PlayBass! Supporting Member

With the seller's logic he must think there are only two positions for the throttle pedal in his car:

-Foot off the pedal
    -Pedal mashed to the floorboard!

:meh:
  7. HeavyRockBasser

HeavyRockBasser

Maybe the guy in the music store just didn't tell him what the knobs do?
  8. TN WOODMAN

TN WOODMAN