1. Please note: We are performing several software upgrades tonight, Sept 29th. Please bear with us. You may notice some formatting issues and other bugs.

Can a Hartke compete?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by dsbass09, Jan 15, 2013.

1. dsbass09

dsbass09

Hey guys, this is my first post. I've been playing bass for 8 years now. I'm finally upgrading to a "big boy" rig. I just joined a progressive metal / metalcore band against my better judgement. There is a Hartke 3500 head for $250, a Hartke LH500 for $225, a Hartke Transient Attack with matching 4x10 cab for $400, and a GK 1001 - rb for $400. I want to spend the least amount and get the best sound possible. What would you guys suggest? Buying the head and cab package or a single head then pick up another cab somewhere? I'm worried that some of these might not keep up with my band. I'm up against a Peavy all tube head with a Mesa Boogie 4x10 and our other guitar player has a Line 6 half stack, not to mention a caveman of a drummer who couldn't not beat the hell out of his kit if the universe depended on it. I need to be able to keep up with these guys plus have a decent amount of headroom in case of an outside gig. Would the Hartke 3500s be enough with a 4x10 cab and maybe aother 1x15? I have absolutely no experience with any of these heads or cabs so any help is appreciated. THANKS!

2. Proraptor

Proraptor

Im a huge fan of my ha 5500...love the eq and has plenty of power to keep up with two guitars. Im running it on a swr goliath senior

3. NWB

NWB

In order to "compete" in that situation, you'd probably need an 8x10 (or two) and 1,000 watts (or more).

And a whole lot of hearing protection!

Really, if they play that loud, then you'll end up in a losing battle of both volume and hearing.:eyebrow:

4. dsbass09

dsbass09