Can Hammer the Roots.........Now What?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by viking power, Jan 7, 2013.

1. viking power

viking power

Where I am right now:
    • Play a 4 stringer, fingerstyle but know how to use pick
    • Jamming fairly regularly in a 3 piece
    • Our little "band" is just doing covers of songs such as Blitzkrieg Bop, Ring of Fire, Ball and Chain, etc.
    • My job is to hammer away at the roots
    • I am studying the fretboard so that I know where all the notes are
    • I'm capable of learning simple punk, metal, rockabilly type songs in a short period of time
    • My rhythm is okay but not great
    • I'm no longer a beginner

My goals:
    • Be the guy in the band that can really hold it all together with my timing and rhythm
    • KNOW my instrument
    • Be able to improvise for fills and mini-solos if we decide to add them in
    • Be savvy at scales, etc. so that I can create original content that is musically correct....I like to create just don't necessarily know what is musically correct

Okay......so.....I don't think I'm really a beginner anymore. Unfortunately, most content is written/produced for beginners (that I've seen anyway).

I would love it if you guys could offer up suggestions regarding online lessons or books or practice regimens or what have you that could help me achieve my goals.

Some would probably suggest live lessons. I have taken some for guitar in the past and in an ideal world of plenty of cash and time I would consider them for bass. I will say that at my current level, I feel like I can mentor myself pretty well with the right materials. Not an equal substitute for a good teacher but we all have to deal with life as best we can......Geez - that sounded dramatic.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts.

EDIT: My musical interests are pretty diverse - Love punk, metal, rockabilly but am very much wanting to learn some funk, slap & pop, and reggae as I progress.
  2. ChrisPbass

ChrisPbass