Can I remove my preamp?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Porteroliver, Feb 13, 2014.


  1. Porteroliver

    Porteroliver

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Location:
    pheonix AZ
    So, I've been looking at a bunch of wiring schematics, and I've seen that almost none of them have a preamp in them, and I would like to wire up my bass differently. I don't know, however whether or not I can safely remove my preamp, and still have my bass work properly. So, has anyone ever done this, or, should I just leave it be?
  2. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Close to Los Angeles, CA
    People remove preamps all the time.

    It doesn't always sound good, however, as some preamps impart a particular voicing.
  3. spaz21387

    spaz21387

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    Portland oregon
    You can but some pickups like certain emgs still require batteries to work.
  4. Maz

    Maz

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Location:
    Albuquerque
    Would help if you told us what you are working with. What model is your bass? Maybe someone has modded one here and can tell you if it's an improvement.

    If your pups are passive you should be able to remove the pre and just rewire the pups to the volumes or balancer as seen in the many passive diagrams floating around.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. MothBox

    MothBox

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Removed my stock pre-amp and rewired a passive system with pickup balance, tone cap selector and series/parallel options. For me the options have made a massive difference. I simply didn't use the pre-amp at all with using a variety of different amps in different practices I found myself altering settings at the amp to get my tone not on the bass.

    Depends on you want out of a rewiring and what you currently use.

    What bass is it? Stock pre-amp?
  7. subdude67

    subdude67

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Location:
    Mombasa - Kenya
    I did it with my yamaha RBX37. very happy with the result.

    what bass are you playing?
  8. Porteroliver

    Porteroliver

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Location:
    pheonix AZ
  9. Rusty G String

    Rusty G String

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    I pulled the active preamp out of my Ibanez. It was easy. Just cut a couple wires and soldered them together. The results were great. I had passive pickups with an active preamp.
  10. Maz

    Maz

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Location:
    Albuquerque
    I cold be wrong but it looks like it's already passive. Three knobs on a P/J bass usually means volume , balance, tone. What controls do you have on yours? Is one of those a stacked knob?
  11. WARHAWK717

    WARHAWK717

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    My Schecter Omen-4 sounded like I put active pickups in it by removing the active preamp. I'm sure different pickups would react different but in my case, it made the bass have a lot more low end punch and the highs would ring clear. It sounded terrible with the preamp even with a new battery. It was probably either broken or very cheap, probably both.
  12. Porteroliver

    Porteroliver

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Location:
    pheonix AZ
  13. Andyman001

    Andyman001 Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Is there a battery?
  14. Porteroliver

    Porteroliver

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Location:
    pheonix AZ
  15. Porteroliver

    Porteroliver

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Location:
    pheonix AZ
    Yes, it is quite nice
    'Tis a nine volt battery
    Powers my pickups
  16. Andyman001

    Andyman001 Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Cool, just checking.
    perhaps you could post a couple pics of the controls / preamp. also check the pots, if they're 250 or 500k you should get a good passive signal, and you could possibly use the push/pull as a series/parallel switch. what model bass is it? I cant tell from the Pics.
  17. Andyman001

    Andyman001 Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    hopefully it powers your pre-amp:D
  18. Porteroliver

    Porteroliver

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Location:
    pheonix AZ
    Yeah. I was just trying to make a haiku.
  19. Kmonk

    Kmonk

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Location:
    South Shore, Massachusetts
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Fender and Spector, Ampeg, Curt Mangan Strings
    It can be done very easily. One of my basses is a 2011 MIA Fender Jazz Deluxe. It came with active electronics and an 18 volt pre-amp. I wasn't happy with the sound so I bought a set of Lindy Fralin jazz pickups, over wound 8%, new pots and capacitors and had it wired passive with volume, tone, volume, tone. I was told this couldn't be done, but it does work. In my opinion, the bass sounds better than ever.
  20. JustForSport

    JustForSport

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Some of those 'P/J's' had a push-pull tone pot for coil split.
    Could be just a loose wire or solder connection came loose inside.
  21. Andyman001

    Andyman001 Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Yea, that went right over my head.

    90% of active basses have passive pick ups, so if you are careful, you should be able to test it passive, and return it to stock pretty easy if it doesn't sound any better.

Share This Page