1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Can I run a Tascam Bass Trainer into my amp?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by steamthief, Dec 13, 2012.

  1. steamthief

    steamthief

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is probably a really stupid question, but I don't want to just start experimenting plugging things in and potentially damaging my amp. I want to start using my long forgotten Bass Trainer - where should I hook it up so I can play along with my CDs again?

    Attached Files:

  2. two fingers

    two fingers Loud Mouth Know It All Blowhard Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Headphones. I don't see anywhere there to plug it in. You could try a Y adapter but start with the volume low on the CDBT1. Then just see what happens. But the best option would be just to use headphones.
  3. FanOfAlice

    FanOfAlice

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Likes Received:
    6
    off topic, but that head looks pretty sweet how do you like it? whats the deal with the room balance knob?

    other than that, just headphone out with volume low into either "poweramp in" or the bass input. "Poweramp in" will bybass the fender preamp and let the tascam do all the shaping.
  4. steamthief

    steamthief

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    Crud - my headphones are broken. I wish I never sold my Nemesis N28S, it had an easy input on the front panel.
    I guess I've discovered one thing I don't like about this amp, lol. I do like it a whole lot, though, very tubey tone for a hybrid, especially so with some vintage Telefunkens inside. The room balance knob is post-eq, allows one to fatten or thin the eq'd tone in problem rooms.
  5. two fingers

    two fingers Loud Mouth Know It All Blowhard Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    TO be such a nice head, that Fender doesn't have a lot of "features".
  6. steamthief

    steamthief

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    What kind of features is it lacking, other than an input for a Bass Trainer? The overdrive is very, very, good, and the tone slays with or without it. Plug and play, mang. :)
  7. NewGuy

    NewGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    You will be fine with "power amp in" if the regular bass input like the other post said. I used my bass trainer for years like that. It was a great way to practice/learn songs when I used the bass trainer to *delete* the recorded bass line. Sometimes I would play to a whole cd like that...felt like I was on tour LOL. Enjoy!
  8. NewGuy

    NewGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also it looks like you have a 2nd input on the back panel (looking at this on my phone so I'm not sure if I'm seeing correctly). On my amp I have 2 inputs so I sometimes plugged my bass into the amp as normal & plugged my trainer into the other input.
  9. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1
    I should get my bass trainer back out too. It has some amp sims built in that kinda sucked but ok for practice with headphones. Mine has a line out which I never used. You could use the Fender power amp in or maybe the regular amp input if it can't drive the amp.

    You want to find out if the line out is stereo or mono, probably mono but you never know. Forcing stereo to sum the left and right can do bad things to the sending device. If it's stereo you'll want to grab a left or right by using little jack to RCA lead and then RCA to a regular lead to get into the Fender.
  10. themaestro78

    themaestro78

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    whats's that input jack next to the tuner out do?
  11. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1
  12. MrLenny1

    MrLenny1

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yah, check out what Maestro78 said.
    I run my Tascam BT thru my Eden all the time.
    It has 2 auxillary inputs on the rear panel.
    I suspect that input jack is the same function.
    Verify it thru Fender online manual if they offer it.

Share This Page