Can I use a PA speaker cabinet for my bass?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Sequimite, Jun 11, 2012.

1. Sequimite

Sequimite

Noob here, life-long drummer, long time rhythm guitarist with an opportunity to play bass. I'm also a stereophile and old, so I have the stubborn determination that you need a BIG cabinet for proper lows. I think of the bass reproduction in my old Bozak Concerto speakers.

I've also noticed that many bass speaker cabinets look a lot like full range PA speakers, so is there anything, other than size and weight, that should deter me from using an Altec Voice of the Theater cabinet or it's equivalent for my bass?

2. B-string

B-string Supporting Member

Not really, the amount of sound output you get would be limited by the speaker in the A7.
    That said, you have been hearing bass recorded from a baked in voice of the bass amp in a processed state. A live instrument is much more percussive. Like the amount of air from a kick drum (that also carries a note). You would not like the sound of a midrange horn with a live bass by the way.

3. Sequimite

Sequimite

Thanks for the reply. So those bass cabinets with tweeter horns and such aren't designed for full frequency reproduction but are attenuated to suit a bass guitar?

4. Jeff Scott

Jeff Scott Don't just TalkBASS - PlayBASS! Supporting Member

Are you related to J. Gordon Holt? :bag:

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Sequimite

Sequimite

I think he had a good point about trusting your ears rather than relying on what scientific instruments can measure.

7. basscooker

basscooker

Disclosures:
    Owner, Chopshopamps.com
    what's the best pa cab for metal?

8. Sequimite

Sequimite

Mock me all you like as long as I get a clear answer.

9. Sequimite

Sequimite

Here's an example of a published frequency response from another thread: " Ampeg SVT-210 AV cab. Ampeg lists it on their web site as -3db at 58Hz-5kHz and -10db at 40 Hz."