Can only hear my E string

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by Dan_reeves, Mar 5, 2014.

1. Dan_reeves

Dan_reeves

Hey guys, newbie here so please be kind.

I have been playing bass for only around 6 months. I have been playing live in my church band for a while now and have made an observation and am not really sure what to think. Hoping you guys might have some ideas for me. I know next to nothing about mixing, I typically trust our church sound guy for that. At any rate...

The music I typically play is quarter notes or eighth notes - basically just the simple root. Our worship songs are pretty simple - basically U2 type rock. Playing the root is really all that is expected of me at the moment, which I am cool with because I am still learning.

I am trying to become a better player and improve my economy of motion. But I have noticed I have a really hard time hearing myself when I play on any string except the E string. I can get away with slides because the songs are so simple, but I'd like to be able to play say a C on the A string instead of the E. But I'll be darned - I can't hear it. I am playing through a 100 watt Ibanez amp that I am using as a monitor - it also lines out into the PA. I also play GHS flats fingerstyle on my P-bass, with tone and volume 100% open.

What am I doing wrong guys? Why can I hear the C on the 8th fret of the E string, but not the C on the 3rd fret of the A, etc? What is wrong with my mix? On the amp, the settings are basically all at 12 o'clock.
  2. nicopiano

nicopiano Supporting Member

The problem might be the bass.
  3. stinky634

stinky634 Supporting Member

Start with the pickups, make sure the are lined up evenly so they all get equal volume to begin with.

How's your EQ set? If you have the bass boosted and no mids it will do the same type of thing, the thicker string will be heard more than a lighter string. Make sure your EQ is relatively flat or that its not too far from it.

Have you tried other strings?