1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Can someone help me ID this Dean Bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by shadowdream, Dec 26, 2013.

1. shadowdream

shadowdream

Hi all!

Got this lovely Dean bass at a pawn shop a few days ago and initially I thought it was the Edge 10. I'll admit, I am an entire noob when it comes to basses and this is my first. I've been playing guitar for a little over a year and wanted to learn bass as well.

So, I know nothing about active pickups other than what they basically do and that they need a battery, but no idea where that battery might be located. Go looking, and realize there is no battery I can find, so they must be passive pickups.
    All I can find on the Edge 10 is active pickups. So, I am guessing it's not a 10?

Can someone help me out please? I initially started the search so I could figure out exactly which knob did what, and because Rocksmith keeps grumping that my volume is too low even when I have it on full.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Thanks!!
  2. dedpool1052

dedpool1052

definately an edge 10. it's possible that the original owner just converted the lectronics to passive. you made sure there wasnt a battery under the control cavity? did you plug it in to see if it works? if there's still a battery harness, it could also be possible the the previous owner just pulled the battery from it.
  3. shadowdream

shadowdream