Can you convert a contour switch into an active/passive toggle?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Sgroh87, Jan 7, 2014.


  1. Sgroh87

    Sgroh87

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Location:
    DFW, Texas
    I've been looking into getting a second bass soon, and I'm thinking about getting a Squier Deluxe Jazz V. Price wise its where I need it to be, and I've been reading good things about it. The only problem is that its always active, and sometimes I prefer a simple passive setup. The controls on it are volume, blend, a 3-band EQ, and a slap contour switch. Would it be possible to have a tech change that contour switch to an active/passive switch like on the American Deluxe? And if so, is it a difficult procedure?
     
  2. SteveHeissner

    SteveHeissner

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    Gaithersburg, MD
    Yes, if the pickups are passive a tech could do this for you.
     
  3. Sgroh87

    Sgroh87

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Location:
    DFW, Texas
    In the little bit of research I've done, it seems they are active pickups with an active EQ. Would I also have to replace the pickups to be able to do this?

    I'm trying to find something that I can play both Miles Davis and The Roots (or even more modern hip hop) on.
     
  4. WalterBush

    WalterBush

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Yuma, Az
    The pickups in the Squier Deluxe Active Jazz V are NOT active. A competent tech should be able to install a passive/active switch.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. khutch

    khutch Praise Harp Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Location:
    suburban Chicago
    You can certainly change the switch so that it bypasses the preamp. This is fairly easy for a tech to do. You will not get a passive mode tone control this way and you may lose your volume control as well (that depends on the details of how this preamp is wired and I don't know them). Putting in passive mode tone and volume controls would be more work and money and maybe it will require some compromises to find a way to add two extra pot elements to provide these functions.
     
  7. rojo412

    rojo412 MARK IT ZERO! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH.
    Disclosures:
    Proprietor, ACF Custom
    EDIT: I was wrong

    Here's the diagram:

    http://support.fender.com/service_diagrams/squier/Squier_DeluxeActive_JazzBassV_SISD.pdf

    The volume is the last thing to go to the jack, so you'd have to change a lot about the wiring. It's possible, but kinda involved.

    Here's what I'd do...
    1) Get a 500k push/pull pot and widen the volume hole to 3/8"
    2) Follow Aguilar's diagram for a bypass switch wired into the OBP-3
    3) For reference:
    Squier PINK = BLUE Aguilar
    Squier BLUE = GREEN Aguilar
    Squier WHITE goes to the + on the jack (so leave it there)

    If you rewire it this way, it will have a push/pull for active/passive on the VOLUME and it will still make sound in passive mode.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page