Can't find any reviews

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by gsprice696, Feb 7, 2014.

1. gsprice696

gsprice696

Hey everyone I'm new to the bass guitar and know very little about them, I haven't even purchased one yet but I intend on it very soon. I'm in the army and currently stationed in South Korea so I don't exactly have the ability to just head down to the local Guitar Center to check any out so I'm hoping you all can give me some advice. I've been looking and found 2 beginner bass packs that look great but I can't find any reviews which makes me leary. The first is the Epiphone Tobias to y performance pack. I've head the amp that comes with it is great but I've heard nothing about the bass. Second is the Ibenez Jumpstart pack which the bass looks really nice but one again no reviews. So if anyone knows anything about these could u give me some info please? Thanks in advance!

2. pfox14

pfox14

I'm not aware of any Epiphone-branded Tobias basses. Of course Epi and Tobias are both owned by Gibson. I have an Epi T-bird bass which I think is a good value for the price I paid. Wish I could be more help.

3. walldaja

walldaja

I started with the Ibanez kit. Both the bass and the amp were adequate for my purposes. Typically the Ibanez has closer string spacing than other basses but that taught me to be more precise with my fingers. The pickups feature a split P/J style that provide ample tonal variations. Build quality was above average. The only other starter kit I would consider would be Fender's but that may not be an option. Also the Ibanez amp that came with mine connected easily to an audio source with a 1/8" jack. Best wishes.

4. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Supporting Member