1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Can't get my bass right...Experienced studio guys needed

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by kosborne, Aug 16, 2013.

1. kosborne

kosborne

Hey guys. I'm a full time recording engineer and I've got a lot of experience in the studio. I recently bought an American Jazz bass with custom shop 60s pickups (passive bass) to have at the studio for other bassists to play if they needed a different sound, or if I needed to drop a quick bass line on something, even if it's just a scratch.

Here's the problem I'm experiencing - MY bass never seems to sound right or fit in the mix.

I know it's not my recording equipment; I've recorded other basses at the studio that sounded great, like old P basses, Active Js, lots of stuff, but for some reason mine just never sounds right to me. My usual bass chain is Bass > Radial DI (active or passive, whatever sounds better) split to the amp and then split to a 1073 and a Distressor or 1176. Generally speaking, it sounds great. I may use a sansamp for grit.

BUT...on MY bass, it's like there's a weird resonance at 100hz and one around 190hz that just muddy up the entire bass up. Of course I've tried mangling it with EQ, but come on, a Bass DI shouldn't be that hard, right? A note - the bass sounds pretty good with absolutely brand new strings, but that's about the only time when it does.

Any ideas? Could it just be that I'm really after a different bass tone "in my head" like a P bass?

FWIW - my favorite bass tones generally come from:

Jamiroquai
    Train (early stuff with Charlie Colin)
    Third Eye Blind (early stuff with Arion)