1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Can't hear myself.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by casper_morgan, Feb 25, 2013.

1. casper_morgan

casper_morgan

:help:

SO I just started playing with a band. We practice in a room that was once a section of the garage. The room is about 15 foot by 12 foot. It has been double insulated with some kind of sound proofing.. plus we have some foam on the walls.

When it's just the drums and me playing my bass I can hear myself just fine. When it is the guitarists and me without the drums, Also.. I can hear myself just fine... but when we are all going full blast with the singer...

I cannot hear myself... I literally have to squat down in front of my bass amp just to hear myself enough to know what I am playing.

Now what doesn't make sense is.. the whole band claims that they can hear me just fine... I don't really understand how if I can't even hear myself.

Anyone else have this problem? Am I going def? I don't feel def.... I've had this problem before a few times with other people I have jammed with too.. they all claim they can hear me but I can't... I just don't get it.

Any advice on the best way to set up the room for better results would be great too... like I said we have a drummer, two guitarists, a singer, and me the bassist.

2. Unrepresented

Unrepresented Something Borderline Offensive Supporting Member

Media:
    If you're aiming your speakers at the backs of your knees and have your ears on your head, you'll have trouble hearing yourself in a room filled with other noise.

Easiest fix is standing across the room from your amp.

3. Melonthief

Melonthief

Not enough info re: your wattage and speakers vs your guitar players wattage and speakers.