1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

cerebral palsy/frethand tension

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by patshortscale, Jan 3, 2014.

1. patshortscale

patshortscale

Hello to all. I am a brand new member to this site, hopefully technique is the right place to post this. I have a mild form of Cerebral palsy, and because of this I have a severe amount of tension in my fretting hand. to compensate for this tension when I started playing around 10 years ago, I started using shortscale basses.
    question 1:although I realize that A)Talkbass members are not medical professionals, and B) that some might consider shortscale bass a hindrance long term. I find it easier to fret notes as my frethand "piles on" my question is for fatigue/pain related to tension reasons (after 1-2 songs) will it be more beneficial to play a standard 34 scale bass long term due to the length/fact that a longer scale will force stretching albiet much shorter playing time than a 30" scale bass? I am looking for outside opinions on this.
    question 2: is there any techniques others have found helpful to reduce tension in the fretting hand? if thoughts and opinions could be shared that would mean a lot to me. (if it makes a difference I am a young male in my early 20's who is somewhat diminutive in size at 5'7 130 lbs) Thanks for reading!

P.S to the mods if this needs moving to a different thread I apologize. Happy bass playing!
  2. Schlyder

Schlyder