1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Change your style for your strings?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Casting Thunder, Jul 29, 2013.

1. Casting Thunder

Casting Thunder

I'm a college student who is still a greenhorn bassist. I get new strings whenever I can, but that's not very often so I adapt to get whatever tone I can stand. With the rounds I lightened up my touch, with flats I use a pick, and I just got pressurewounds and I have found myself being very heavy on them.

Am I harming myself as a bassist doing this? Does anyone else do this?

2. yookh4u

yookh4u

I think you're trying to get the best tone with your instrument and strings without knowing it. Well, why not? Lots of players does that too...

But maybe someday you will find somewhat "go to setup" that fits your style at any given circumstances.

3. Bassist4Eris

Bassist4Eris Non Serviam Supporting Member

"Being very heavy on them" is a phrase that concerns me. You want to keep it ergonomic.

Note: I have no experience with pressurewounds.

One thing that jumps out at me is that you switched to using a pick when you tried flats. That, to me, suggests that flats didn't really cut through with enough treble for you, so you "compensated" by using a pick to get that treble you were missing.

That said, learning both pick and fingerstyle is never a bad thing.

The phrase "whatever tone I can stand with them" suggests to me that you're still looking for the right string for you. Nothing wrong with that.

4. Casting Thunder

Casting Thunder