1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Changing stingray tone aguilar preamp? Pickup?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Tony Flow MMMM, Jan 5, 2013.

  1. Tony Flow MMMM

    Tony Flow MMMM Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I'm looking to change the sound of my stingray. I have a two band and find the sound compressed especially when ran into effects. None my other basses have this issue.

    I'm considering an aguilar preamp. Anyone have experience with these on a stingray.
  2. bassgod0dmw

    bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Likes Received:
    19
    Are your other basses active or passive?
  3. Tony Flow MMMM

    Tony Flow MMMM Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mixed.. But stingray is compressed. I have both active and passive.
  4. 73jbass

    73jbass Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Likes Received:
    0
    What effects?
  5. Calaverasgrande

    Calaverasgrande

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    that is not how I would describe any of my Ernie Ball basses.
    What kind of strings?
    Whats your amp?
  6. Tony Flow MMMM

    Tony Flow MMMM Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well it's mainly with my q tron. Sounds like el poo poo
  7. narud

    narud Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Likes Received:
    0
    with the 2 band being pretty relaxed in the upper midrange, i could see how the ray wouldnt drive a filter very well. any thought to putting in a series/parallel switch?

Share This Page