Changing the tone

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by GoofusPro, Feb 18, 2014.

1. GoofusPro

GoofusPro

I'm new to string instruments and had a question about tone.

Lets say you get bass guitar A, which has tone that is questionable at very best. (I say questionable because tone can be subjective)

Can you alter it by changing pickup, amp, strings, etc? Or is there such thing as inherent nature that you just can't change due to the construction?

I ask this because a friend of mine who has been playing some time told me to avoid cheap bass (sub 300 bucks) because I will have to fight the instrument to play and you'll be stuck with a tone because it's not worth trying to correct due to the low cost of the bass and high cost of the after market parts.

Do many of you even bother changing pickups or do you just buy another bass guitar to get the desired sound as time goes by?

Thanks for all advice in advance.

2. mambo4

mambo4

Bring your instructor or an experienced player to help try out instruments.
    You can get a serviceable instrument with a usable tone (something that can be heard in the mix) for under 300 bucks.
    As a beginner, you probably won't have an ear for when your tone is good or bad for a few years.
    (Then you'll spend a decade or two chasing a perfect tone ,
    only realize that anything that can be heard in the mix is just fine and worry about your playing more.)

There is a reason the Fender Precision continues to thrive over the years: a simple, serviceable tone.

3. jeremysmyth

jeremysmyth

Also bear in mind that your playing has a huge effect on the tone and how you feel about it. It's a bit of a cliché around here, but I know it's true because it's happened to me recently.