1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Chickenbacker 4004LK - (Chinese Rickenbacker Lemmy Kilmister Signature Replica)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Spidzior, Dec 10, 2013.

1. Spidzior

Spidzior

Has anyone here seen it?

[​IMG]

Doesn't look that bad. Obviously nowhere near the original, but it's 539$, while only 60 units of the real one were produced and now the prices are really high.

[​IMG]

What do you think about it?

There was some talk about Chickenbackers on TB, but not this particular model. The regular ones vary in quality. I'm no Rickenbacker expert, but even to my untrained eyes on the ones I've seen dead giveaways are the bridges and crappy inlays.

[​IMG]

2. PaulBoyer

PaulBoyer Supporting Member

Well, if you like cheap and "crappy," you'll get what you pay for.

3. funkingroovin

funkingroovin Conquering A-D-D,and all the other notes as well!

Pretty close copy..regardless its pedigree,I'd like to give it whirl.

4. Spidzior

Spidzior

If you're addressing me, I have no intention of acquiring one. Simply thought someone here might be interesting, considering some already have purchased several Chickenbackers.

If I was buying one, I'd probably order a custom replica from one on Polish luthiers. I guess it'd still be half the price of original 4003 and be done all to my liking. And I'm not saying I wouldn't prefer the original, I just can't really afford (or even need) one right now.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. steveinohio

steveinohio Supporting Member

I think they are cool and priced about right. Probably about the same craftsmanship as a Ric! Interesting to see.

7. Ric5

Ric5 Supporting Member

If they make a 5 string model then I am interested.

8. PaulBoyer

PaulBoyer Supporting Member

Now I'm laughing.

9. kohntarkosz

kohntarkosz Banned

That is your job!