1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Chords - Practice

Discussion in 'Ask Janek Gwizdala' started by Bass-Teddy, Aug 13, 2012.

1. Bass-Teddy

Bass-Teddy

Hi there Janek!

First of all I would like to thank you for all the great videos and music you make!

And on to my question: Im not a professional musician or bassist and Im not really good at music, but my goal is to get as good as possible. Im trying to learn chord "connections". I find it hard to develop a natural sence for hearing chords efter each other in my head and play them... Soooo, I started to loop 3-4 note chords on my 5-string, but every time I get to the point when I have a melody, I just cant consturct a good chord related bass line for it.
    Or if I have a good bass line in my head I cant find a good chord based explanation or melody for it.
    Any ideas how can/should I practice these?

Thank you in advance!
    Have a nice day!
  2. janekbass

janekbass Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Founder and CEO of http://videobasslessons.tv
    My first suggestion is to start listening more closely to chord sequences that you like in songs. Be that on the radio, from your own collection, spotify, itunes etc etc...