1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Chosing my first bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Feataler, Apr 9, 2014.

1. Feataler

Feataler

Hey there, new to the forums and aspiring bassist myself, I've been trying to chose my first bass for the past few months and have come to two choices.

The first one is the Ibanez ATK200, which right now is my favourite of the two and I kind of have a crush on, and I'm being offered one for 310€.

The second one is the Ibanez SR300, which I have also tested, is lighter and has a more detailed finish, and is slightly less expensive (289€ is the offer).

Now I'd personaly go for the first but I have no experience with playing bass whatsoever and I don't know if I'm missing out on some important feature the SR300 has that could be crucial. Also, if there are better, different bass suggestions, I'm all ears.

What are your opinions?

2. Gorn Captain

Gorn Captain Supporting Member

Honestly, assuming the bass is properly set up and functions as it should, these kinds of decisions will only slow down your progression as a bass player. That was the case for me anyway. Buying and selling and trading before I even knew the whole fretboard. It was a waste of time and money. Concerning yourself with gear before you actually learn the instrument will slow you down.

Just buy one and play.....with a metronome.....

My 2 cents.

3. Alexander

Alexander

Welcome and hope your journey is a long one! I think both are decent first basses and will get you going. I'd pick the one that speaks to you more and go for it. They're pretty comparable. I'd ok with the ATK, which sounds like where you're leaning anyway...

4. metalhead398

metalhead398