CHP vs. Firefighter

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Metalbasspro, Mar 26, 2014.

1. Metalbasspro

Metalbasspro

2. i_got_a_mohawk

i_got_a_mohawk

Can't believe the police officers were stupid enough to try and prioritise flow of traffic over people in a serious car crash.

Actually, I can believe it. Some people need to feel the power.
  3. biobass

biobass Supporting Member

I am a volunteer EMT in New Jersey. While not commenting about the OP's specific case, because I don't know the details, I have always been taught that Police first priority is public safety, i.e. traffic flow, and not patient treatment. That is why they call us and the Fire Department. That said, most of the police officers in my town are trained as first responders and many are EMTs. They often pitch in after the scene is safe.
  4. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism Supporting Member

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Downunderwonder

Downunderwonder

Virus attacked my phone before I finished the article.

Sounds like Fire and Chp need to get agreement on standard procedure. I reckon you would want at least one clear lane between accident and traffic.
  7. 6jase5

6jase5 Mammogram is down but I'm working manually Gold Supporting Member

I'll chalk this up to "had to be there" as it certainly sounds way off kilter. Usually no tension between the two that I've ever seen (several friends on both sides). Too easy to be an armchair finger pointer on this one.
  8. SnowCal

SnowCal

Fire and highway patrol have competing viewpoints here. That's part of the issue. Fire's #1 goal is to secure the scene so nothing bad happens right here, right now. Then they tend to the patients.