Chromes Q&A 2012 Am Std P

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by dasbusking, Jan 6, 2013.

1. dasbusking

dasbusking

First off I am a Noob and have only been playing Bass since March. For Christmas this year my super duper wife surprised me with an american standard P bass. I love the thing but I really want to try flats to get "the" sound. I have read a ton of this section and listened to all the sound clips I can find and decided that Chromes seem like they will unlock the magic of my P bass. I have a few questions though:
    #1 Do I need an extra long set for through body stringing?
    #2 Should I even be stringing flats through the body or is that a flat wound foul?
    #3 What string gauge should I get to avoid having to mess with the nut? I am not really comfortable filing the nut and I can't afford to take it to a luthier. (until I pay it off...lol):help:

Thanks,
    JW Morris

2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    1. I would. D'addario makes the speaking length on Chromes just barely clear the nut with a top-strung bridge.

2. Good question. I never tried it, but I know others who have and it seems to work OK. The angles the bridge puts on it thru-body aren't all that severe IMHO.

3. You should be OK with any set up to a .050 G. I'd do whatever gauge I'm using currently in rounds...that's what I do.

3. jasper383

jasper383 Supporting Member

I think you can go just through the bridge on those newer Fender bridges. Regular Chromes would work that way without going extra long.

I also suggest the Fender 9050CL set. 45-105, balanced tension, long enough for through body. Great strings.

4. cybersnyder

cybersnyder Always groove.... Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing artist: Xsonics cabinets