1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Church Praise Band

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Llaslo, Jan 16, 2013.

1. Llaslo

Llaslo

Hello all,

I'm fairly new here. I've been playing on my bass for about 4 months but only recently started posting here. I've been going through various books and such, but really decided I want to take lessons to improve my skills. I played Viola in orchestra all throughout high school, but that was a loooooong time ago. At any rate. My church found out I've been learning bass, and they know that my wife is a drummer. They've asked us about starting a praise band to play during sunday morning worship services, and possibly at various events we have at the church. This prospect is very exciting to me, but I really am not sure skill-wise, that I'd be ready for that, and I certainly don't want to embarrass myself or the others. What are your thoughts on when someone is ready to start an endeavor like this?
  2. bassteban

bassteban

You are formally trained on viola- I'd be shocked if you couldn't handle bass. Focus on timing; w/ your experience Im guessing your theory & reading skills surpass the average bass player. I say give it a shot- if the environment you describe is not very encouraging, IMO they're * doing it wrong* :D
  3. cloverkeys

cloverkeys

been there about a year ago, I say do it for sure.