Classic Amplification Ric pickups

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by 53x39, Dec 7, 2012.

1. 53x39

53x39

My name 53x39 and I'm a recovering guitarist. This is my first post so go easy on me. I've been lurking for some time though.
    I have a 2011 4003 that I really like but felt the the pickups to be lacking in clarity, dynamics, and evenness. The tone was great but they seemed to be overwound for a big sound while missing other important features a good pickup should have. So I bought a set of Classic Amplification button top pickups.
    The build on the bridge has a metal base instead of plastic so there is no need to have an extra star ground from the pickup to the cover. When adding a bezel this extra fumbling with the spring, base, ground and cover caused me to cross thread the plastic a little. I also had to re attach the main ground from the factory because it had broken. The CA PUP has all wires enclosed neatly. Installing them was easy.
    The OEM neck has rubber magnets that I'm guessing the bridge also has. The magnet had a crack in it, probably from me raising and lowering the pickup in an attempt to balance the levels. The CA PUPs have high grade parts throughout the build as well as a precise build.
    The sound is much better. It's just as big and full as the OEM but with better definition, better dynamics and better sound overall. The E string on both pickups is strong, the balance between the two is much better and now I find myself using the neck only if I choose. Before the neck was just too soft to be effective by itself.
    These are the results that I have had and I'm very pleased with the change. These pickups appear to me to be Ric pickups. Not a version but the real thing made to the right specs using the right materials. The same way you would consider a Lollar P pickup to be a P pickup but made by Jason instead of fender.