1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Classic Bass Lines

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Ash Jazz, Jan 13, 2014.

1. Ash Jazz

Ash Jazz

Hello,

I'm a recovering guitarist! I've been playing bass for many years but am usually criticized for playing bass like a guitarist. This is probably true but I've really been getting into the bass in a big way and want to approach it with a lot more intensity.

I've decided I need to learn from the masters. To get the ball rolling this weekend I worked out the bass lines for "Being for the Bennefit of Mr Kite" and "I Want You (She's So Heavy)" Beatles, and "I Want You Back", Jackson Five.

What bass lines do you consider to be classics and must learn tunes?

2. BassChuck

BassChuck Supporting Member

Well, if you're thinking Beatles, don't forget "Lady Madonna", "Daytripper", "Something" or "A Little Help from My Friends". Not as well known but from that same era, Sugarloaf's "Green Eyed Lady" was always a favorite. Just about anything James Jamerson touched would be close to if not classic, so check out the book, "Standing in the Shadows of Motown". Chuck Rainey's work on Steely Dan's "Aja" album is totally worth the time.

3. Ash Jazz

Ash Jazz

Thanks Chuck, I'll check those out. James Jamerson, great recommendation!

4. MazingerZ

MazingerZ

Black sabbaths NIB, cream"s sjnshine of your love to name a few

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Ash Jazz

Ash Jazz

Hi MazingerZ,

I do know Sunshine, it is the definitive jam tune!

Wow, I haven't listened to NIB in many years. I owned the album back in the days people had albums....and wore animal pelts. I don't know if I still have it. I don't know if I still have a turntable! I'll have to Amazon it.

Thanks for the recommendations!

7. Ash Jazz

Ash Jazz