Classical piccolo bass and all that jazz...err...classical

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bopeuph, Nov 20, 2012.

1. bopeuph

bopeuph

Hey guys, long time no post.

I'm fairly new in Orlando, so most of the gigs aren't really coming my way, with there being fewer and fewer well-paid band gigs. I want to make some changes to drum up more work without having to rehearse guys who don't want to show up on time, call out last minute, or worry about venues just not "having the money" to afford even a trio these days.

I want to try some new ideas with solo work.

My background is heavily-influenced classical training with my knowledge, but my chops were always jazz oriented since I jumped onto double bass so late in the game; my bowing chops were never great. They're getting better, but I couldn't jump into a solo gig on it in three months from now.

I've been thinking about going piccolo bass. I'm going to pick up a set of strings and put it on my Epiphone that never gets any play except for home practice. I've been debating on turning it into a tenor bass for years, anyway.

But I think I want more of a classical guitar sound. My idea is to play classical guitar music for restaurants and possibly weddings. Now, to actually sit and learn to play a classical guitar could take me years. I want to be able to just transfer the music I already know onto an instrument with a very fast learning curve to get gigs fast. I have studied most of the Bach cello suites very thoroughly, and could add other stuff to it, like typical wedding music and lute music.

Since I've always been a four string bassist, I feel like if I could just have a four string picc tuning, I could knock out this stuff much faster. But listening to piccolo basses on YouTube still have a bit of a muddy and, of course, electric sound. I would like to more or less fool the clients into my instrument being called a classical guitar.