Cliff Burton - style & technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by prof_nutbutter, Jun 8, 2005.

1. prof_nutbutter

prof_nutbutter

yo guys,
    i'm really into the old metallica stuff with cliff burton atm. the last few days i learned master of puppets and the four horsemen on bass easily. and i am really amazed by cliff burtons cool basslines. i once saw a video and noticed that he was developing his own technique and style.
    what do you think of him, opinions please and tell me if you think that metallica would have become greater than they already got with jason newsted.

RIP
    Cliff....

prof-nutbutter
  2. Tash

Tash

Cliff is a very popular bassist on these boards, for good reason. Personally Cliff is the reason I started playing bass, and the same is true for a number of others here.
  3. Mr. Metal Smith

Mr. Metal Smith

To me he was the best. Im sure by most peoples standards he is up there among the best metal bassists ever. It has been suggested that his death "made" him greater than he really was. Maybe so, but he still was an amazing player by the age of only 24. He could play the really fast thrashy stuff like Fight Fire With Fire, Whiplash, Damage Inc. etc and very melodic stuff like Orion and Fade To Black with a kickass groove.

As a songwriter he was also great and influenced Metallica alot. He knew when to back the guitars to create the "wall of sound" sound :) and when to create cool basslines.

His right hand technique is somewhat hard to describe from the video clips that I have seen. It seems like he used 3 fingers to pick/strum. Although he did anchor his thumb sometimes, he rarely did and didnt need to. It just floated around and he had great control from playing so much :)