CNC Cutting

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by apdamron, Feb 1, 2013.

1. apdamron

apdamron

Hey guys,
    First off I just want to say I have zero experience in making guitars and that I respect the amount of time and knowledge needed to go about the craft. However, I am a skilled CNC Programmer, draftmen, 3-d Modeller, etc with pretty much any and every tool available at my disposal. Basically I am interested in designing/programming/cutting out components myself for a project.

I'm curious if there is blueprints out there to try and get a feel for generic shape and dimensions, body cavity sizes, spaces for electrical routing, and whatnot. I'm sure this will have it's share of headaches but again, I am doing this as a personal pet project so it is what it is, just trying to get pointed in the right direction.

I plan to do the body cutouts on a waterjet, probably multiple layers. Edge beveling and such can all be done on the machine so with an end product, I would pretty much just be sanding edges.

Any help whatsoever would be awesome.
  2. thebassbuilder

thebassbuilder

Disclosures:
    guitar builder, Meyers Guitars
    PM me with your email and I will send you some stuff I have for a Jazz and P bass. Also how are you going to use a water jet on wood? You need to use a router bit cnc (or whatever you call them) But you sound like you know more about the machines then me.
  3. F-Clef-Jef

F-Clef-Jef

I've got a pretty good library of solid models (mostly bodies), dxf's & what-not. I do solid modeling on Solidworks. I would think dxf's would be the most useful for a waterjet. PM me and I can also email you some files.
    We also have a waterjet here that I intend to put to use someday, although I'm wondering if I'll have a large mess to clean up afterward. Have you done much wood cutting on your waterjet? Does it leave much debris behind (in the tank)?
  4. iamlowsound

iamlowsound