1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

CNC Cutting

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by apdamron, Feb 1, 2013.

1. apdamron

apdamron

Hey guys,
    First off I just want to say I have zero experience in making guitars and that I respect the amount of time and knowledge needed to go about the craft. However, I am a skilled CNC Programmer, draftmen, 3-d Modeller, etc with pretty much any and every tool available at my disposal. Basically I am interested in designing/programming/cutting out components myself for a project.

I'm curious if there is blueprints out there to try and get a feel for generic shape and dimensions, body cavity sizes, spaces for electrical routing, and whatnot. I'm sure this will have it's share of headaches but again, I am doing this as a personal pet project so it is what it is, just trying to get pointed in the right direction.

I plan to do the body cutouts on a waterjet, probably multiple layers. Edge beveling and such can all be done on the machine so with an end product, I would pretty much just be sanding edges.

Any help whatsoever would be awesome.
  2. thebassbuilder

thebassbuilder

Disclosures:
    guitar builder, Meyers Guitars
    PM me with your email and I will send you some stuff I have for a Jazz and P bass. Also how are you going to use a water jet on wood? You need to use a router bit cnc (or whatever you call them) But you sound like you know more about the machines then me.
  3. F-Clef-Jef

F-Clef-Jef