Coffee Makes Me Feel Sick! Why!?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Techmonkey, Oct 16, 2007.

1. Techmonkey

Techmonkey

I've been drinking coffee for a couple of years and only recently has it been having this effect on me (last couple of weeks perhaps)

I literally cannot stand it anymore. The taste, smell, even the sight of it makes me feel physically sick. I've got a lot of work to do this year and I've been up until the early hours of the morning every night finishing essays and doing paperwork/organising events... I literally need the caffeine to keep me awake at these times, and without it I'm really beginning to suffer.

Has anyone else ever experienced this? Have I just over-exposed myself to the beverage? Is it something to do with some other part of my life?

please... help.... eyelids...... closinggggg....

2. hbarcat

hbarcat Supporting Member

Perhaps your wife is trying to kill you.

Did you recently increase the amount on your life insurance policy?
    Have you been seeing a lot of empty rat poison boxes in the garbage lately?
    Is your wife looking at pamphlets for ocean cruises?

:eyebrow:

:D

3. bburk

bburk

Yeah, I quit the stuff because of it.

About a year ago I started noticing that I was getting light-headed and a little nauseated for apparantly no reason. At one point I went to the emergency room because I was afraid I was going to pass out (was getting serious waves of tunnel-vision). A couple hundred bucks later the doctor told me I was depressed and dehydrated or some bull... I was relieved because, at least he was convinced that I wasn't going to die.

It took me a while to figure out what it was though. I went through a series of week long phases of cutting out particular foods. Wheat gluten, carbonated beverages, dairy, etc... I'd been a die-hard Mountain Dew guy for years and wasn't really willing to concede that it was caffeine. But eventually, I tried quitting the stuff and felt quite a bit better.