1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

College hopeful with no experience. Audition in in 2 months.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Daron, Feb 7, 2013.

1. Daron

Daron

So here I am! I graduated from High School in 2012 with an Associates degree from a local community college the same year. I had planned to go straight to school for computers but some family stuff changed all that and I had to skip out for year. During that time I decided music is what I really love and I'm gonna go for it! Here's where the problem lies. I am applying for the Sound Recording Technology program at Texas State University San Marcos. Link for those interested.

Since the program is technically part of the school of music, an audition is required. Luckily they allow this specific major to audition on the Bass Guitar. The thing about this is I am nowhere near classically trained in that regard. Here is the link to the website with the requirements. Scroll down to Bass Guitar.
    Other parts of acceptance to the program hinge on a portfolio. I'm not as worried about that as I am the audition. I've been making music for around 3 years now at a quality deemed decent, at least, by the majority of people. Here is a link to the pieces I plan to submit if anyone is interested. They are not all "heavy" like the first one and I know the levels need to be matched. All in good time!I have also been mixing live sound for around 5 years. I have done festivals and small shows as well as "corporate" events, etc. I may be young but my mentor's last stint on the Pro Sound circuit was mixing for Aerosmith. He also filled in for Toto's drummer once but that is a different story! :D

Just to reiterate here is a copy/paste version of the audition requirements.