1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Comments/criticism?

Discussion in 'Orchestral Auditions [DB]' started by reese84, Oct 25, 2012.

1. reese84

reese84

Hey guys,
    So im a senior in high school and im getting ready for my undergraduate college auditions, and this is the first part of the prescreening video that will be part of my application to rice and cim. just wondering what you guys think i can do to make it better.
    Thanks!
    eric

2. reese84

reese84

oops forgot to link the video...

3. Adam Attard

Adam Attard

Sounds good! A few things-

-Occasional pitch issues, but only mild
    -The scherzo should be more in time than you're taking it- don't take too many liberties with
    tempo, like at the end of phrases.
    -Try to pay more attention to dynamics throughout everything- especially in the trio

Sidenote- I'm a freshman at CIM, and they just added the prescreening requirement. From what I understand Scott and Max won't be doing much aggressive limiting of applicants, unless they get an absurdly high number of tapes.

4. reese84

reese84

hey thanks dude! how are you liking cim/who are you studying with? i visited there during the summer and got a lesson with max, he seemed like an excellent teacher

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. braizahn

braizahn

What's up Errc!!!! Sounds great man if I had to comment on anything it would just be

- tempo changes slightly when your dynamic Changes. Learning the other instrument parts in the symphony may fix this issue. Especially for brass.
    - for the scherzo you might be working a little harder than you need to be
    - trio sounds good man, feel free to keep polishing it because it's working out

Great job dude! Good luck with auditions coming up

7. reese84

reese84