1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Compression and Preamps

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by thunder_dan, Jan 27, 2014.

1. thunder_dan

thunder_dan

Greetings all. I am new to rack mount options, so I need a little help. I recently disassembled my pedalboard because I'm playing in a metal group and need very few effects. I got rid of my Sansamp Bass Driver and opted for the RPM. After reading the scores of reviews here on TB, in hindsight I should have gotten the RBI, but I digress. I'm also running a Line 6 G90, wireless and a Korg Pitchblack Pro Tuner. So my question is this: If I have a limiter built into my amp, do I really need a compressor/noise gate for my rack? I understand at times the RPM or RBI for that matter may get a little hot, but will my amp limiter compensate for that? Any help will do, I don't want to waste time buying too many components.
  2. walterw

walterw Supportive Fender Gold Supporting Member

what kind of amp?

are you using the sansamp as an "effect" in front or as the actual preamp, by going into your amp's effects return?
  3. spz8

spz8

Compression/Limiting has nothing to do with equipment overheating.
  4. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    By "hot" did you mean high output? If so, you just turn down the master volume a bit.

Check the faq linked in my sig for articles about setting up a rack rig, and whether you need a compressor. :)
  5. Joe Louvar