Compression Suggestions

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by mhandley16, Jan 27, 2013.

1. mhandley16

mhandley16

Hey everyone.

I've been playing bass for a few years now but have never dabbled in effects. Do any of you more experienced players have suggestions for compression pedals? Any reviews or anything else would definitely help. Thanks in advance!
  2. mgalat

mgalat Supporting Member

ovnilab.com

more compressor reviews than you or your grandmother can handle.
  3. Swift713

Swift713

4. SunnBass

SunnBass All these blankets saved my life. Supporting Member

Media:
    Not truly compression, and lots of folks around here bash it, but...
    I just recently purchased the Boss LMB-3, and if you take your time with it and leave the "enhance" knob aloe, it's pretty great.

But yeah, go to Bongo's site: http://www.ovnilab.com
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. SirMjac28

SirMjac28 Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion Gold Supporting Member

+1000 our own Bongomania has compiled the best list on the internet about compressors.
  7. bludog

bludog Supporting Member

^The truth. I've always thought he should have his own TB fan club.
  8. ShowKing

ShowKing

I love my MXR M87 bass compressor.
    Depending on what you are going for, generally compression shouldn't be too noticeable.
    My compressor helps tame harsh peaks when I dig in and bring out light playing while retaining my tone.
    The LED indicator and attack, release controls is what I love about the MXR.
  9. SirMjac28

SirMjac28 Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion Gold Supporting Member

+1 on that
  10. Immigrant

Immigrant

More props to Bongomania. Just about any question can be answered by going to his website.