Compressor for rather aggressive fingerstyle

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by sideFX, Dec 6, 2013.

1. sideFX

sideFX

Hi all!

As the title suggests, I'm gassing for a new bass comp.

First off I should clarify that I've done much reading on Bongo's helpful ovnilab site and it was his reviews that led me to buy a Carl Martin Classic Opto comp 16 months ago as a decent mid-price option.
    I'm a total noob when it comes to compression though, and had quite a hard time setting up the CM [relatively] correct, lol even now I'm guessing my setup is not right cause when I play really hard on the E string it does this thing where momentarily it sounds loud and the next moment the volume drops significantly and the note sounds really chocked. I hope you get what I'm trying to say, I can't describe it any better :meh:
    [Btw I wonder if this is the dip-and-swell action I've read about in many bongo's reviews]

When playing with a lighter touch though, it's working perfectly, tightening my sound in a nice way. But either way, I can't tell by ear when it's starting to compress, or how intense the compression is. The result of this is that I can't adjust the input-threshold right.

Anyway, I've seen clips of the new mxr m87 bass comp and it doesn't seem to have this volume drop issue with similar playing style (heavy hitting right hand, really aggressive, like Flea's fingerstyle on BSSM). It also has the led metering which I think will be very helpfull.

If I understand correctly what I need is a compressor that acts as a good limiter as well, with a high ratio, attack and release controls, fast attack, and which doesn't do the "volume-drop-thing" I mentioned above.

So I've narrowed it down to the following

MXR M87 bass compressor (pros: led metering, size, the cheapest of the bunch, cons: the fixed ratios, only very fast attack?)
    Aguilar TLC (pros: rave reviews, crystal clear, best limiter option?, cons: no metering)