Compressor Question on my new Carvin BX1500

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Toddbass65, Nov 24, 2012.

1. Toddbass65

Toddbass65 Supporting Member

Got my new BX1500 and love it with my two BR410 cabs. Running each cab off the power amps individually - so 300 watts per cab.
    I am having a hard time figuring out the compression. I can't seem to equal out the volume between my strings (4 string) and the clip light on the compression is on all the time. Any ideas what I can do to solve this......and is the clipping light on the compression something to worry about? Trying to get everything worked out on my setup and I am gettin close.
    Any other advice anyone might have related to setup is welcome, as I am still learning this new rig and am FAR from an expert :)
    Thanks!
  2. 62 Vintage J

62 Vintage J

What " o'clock " position is the Compression knob set? The obvious solution is to back off on the 'COMP' gain. The LED should not be on all the time!

You have probably already read the instruction manual, but here is what it says:

The advantage of a compressor is to the reduce peaks and other sudden loud parts (transients) of your
    playing so you can increase your overall volume. For example, in slap bass playing, the plucked notes
    can put out peaks that would distort the amplifier at normal playing volumes. If the amp’s volume was
    adjusted for these peaks, the rest of the notes would be too quiet to hear with the band. When the compressor
    is adjusted to where the LED comes on for loud peaks, the amplifier can be played louder without
    distortion. It’s like having someone re-adjusting the volume of the amplifier to prevent distortion when
    the peaks occur.
    The compressor circuit in the BX series is also internally connected to the power amplifier. When the
    amplifier reaches peak clipping levels it activates the compressor and reduces the output signal. This