Compressors again - MXR M87 vs. EQD The Warden?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Impostor, Dec 16, 2013.

1. Impostor

Impostor

Hello the FX connoisseurs, I need some advice on compressors. I'll try to describe my aims and attitude to compression as fully as possible.

Currently I'm using Humphry Audio Bass Smasher (that's a heavily modded Boss CS-3). I like its tonal transparency - it is not clinical, but its slight coloration doesn't alter the character of my tone. It sounds very musical to my ear - I use it with very moderate settings (the Sustain knob is mostly around 9 o'clock), so that it's rarely heard that a compressor is on. As long as I'd been playing only some structured, predictable stuff, it was fine - essentially an on/off device, but fine for me. But since I started playing more and more free improvisation in different settings and messing more with the onboard EQ, I encountered the limitation of the original Boss design, which is the same Sustain knob controlling both the input threshold and the ratio. There's no way to quickly and intuitively adjust the compression threshold in order to adapt to a change of the input level, and have the same good results - seems more like a 'hit and miss'. So in such situations I have to just keep it off. Clearly, the time has come to search for something more tweakable.

As for the main question everyone in search of a compressor should answer - what do you use it for? For me, it is NOT to level up my playing dynamics. Rather, what I need from a compressor is to tighten up the sustain in different scenarios:
    1) the most obvious - to cut through a dense mix, especially with fast and busy percussion;
    2) I use compression before the octaver so that it doesn't loose track on longer notes;
    3) same with the fuzz - it behaves better if you feed it with compressed signal;
    4) same with ambient swells, fade-ins etc.;