Confused about tuning

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Ishkaga, Jan 19, 2014.

1. Ishkaga

Ishkaga

Hi all, this is my first time posting on these forums. I've got a question that's been bothering me for a while now.

So I own two basses, an ESP AX-104 and an Ibanez SR-105, I got the ESP when I started playing bass about 3 years ago. When I first got it, I tuned it down occasionally and would then eventually tune it back up to standard, which both my basses are pretty much always in now. After a while, I started getting really bad fret buzz so I took it in to the shop and a tech told me that I can't tune down a bass without adjusting the truss rod. Another person has told me I just can't tune down a bass then tune in back up as it will warp the neck. And still others have told me it makes no difference at all.

Since I got my Ibanez a year ago I haven't touched my ESP much, but I've been wanting to tune it down to C so I have a reason to play it instead of always using my 5-stringer. I am completely confused as to whether or not I have to adjust the neck to tune it down and I was hoping somebody could help. I unfortunately still don't know much about the maintenance of my basses, just the playing, so I'm worried that by screwing with the truss rod I might damage the neck. Unfortunately at the shop I got it, it costs $80 for a neck adjustment (which the tech said I need to tune down) and I can't really afford that. I've also been told the strings matter too when tuning down, I use Blue Steels on both my basses, I'm not sure what they are for the ESP, but on the Ibanez they are 45-128, and they're probably about the same, minus the fifth string, for my ESP.

I apologize for the long paragraphs but I felt I needed to provide details. Thanks in advance to anyone who can help.
  2. 96tbird

96tbird Supporter Supporting Member