1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Confusing phase and timing when we say that different size speakers together is bad?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by sbpark, Feb 9, 2013.

1. sbpark

sbpark

To start, I'm sure this topic has been discussed ad nauseum, and this is in no way an attempt to troll. I'm pretty new to this forum, and have to say in the short time I have been here I have learned and gained a PLETHORA of knowledge that I cannot thank everyone here enough for. This post is merely an attempt to continue that trend and to educate myself even further.

The general consensus here is that it is bad juju to combine different cabinets that have different size speakers. I'm sure there is evidence that can both prove and disprove this, but the problem I have is when people say that it's due to PHASING issues. I am not an engineer nor do I have any kind of formal technical background, so I am just trying to understand this from a layman's standpoint. But I always thought phase had nothing to do with timing, and is something completely different. Phase would have to do with the way the cabinets were wired, and if one was wired opposite of the other you were using, THAT would cause phasing issues. Basically the same thing would happen if you hooked up one of your stereo speakers opposite of the other, then they are said to be out of phase. This I understand, but am sure there is an industry standard as to how the leads are connected to what terminals on the speaker in order to prevent cabinets from being out of phase with each other.